Housing Choice Voucher

What is the Housing Choice Voucher Program?

The Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) Program, the nation’s largest rental assistance program, helps low-income families, the elderly and the disabled rent decent, safe and sanitary housing units in the private market. Each year, HCVs help lift more than one million people nation-wide out of poverty and give families the opportunity to move to safer, less poor neighborhoods. The HCV program offers a number of benefits to participating families, as well as communities as a whole, including:

  • Reducing homelessness
  • Increasing housing stability
  • Reducing poverty
  • Helping low-wage workers make ends meet
  • Giving families access to safer neighborhoods with better schools and opportunities
  • Allowing senior citizens and disabled individuals to live independently
  • Reducing costs in health care and other public services

How Does A Housing Choice Voucher Work?

The HCV program was designed to expand housing choices for low-income families by allowing them to search for rental housing in the private market. Once a low-income family is invited to participate in the program, the HACP issues that family a housing voucher. The voucher identifies the size of unit the family qualifies for, as well as the maximum amount of monthly rent the family can afford to pay. Using the voucher information as a guideline, the voucher holder then searches for an affordable rental unit that best matches their family’s housing needs

What is the Relationship Between Program Participants, Property Owners and the HACP?  

The HCV program is best viewed as three separate partnerships: one between the HACP and program participants, another partnership between the HACP and property owners, and a third partnership between the property owner and their HCV program tenant family.

Useful Information for Landlords and Property Owners

Landlords working with the HACP Housing Choice Voucher Program (Section 8) or interested in working with HACP can view the Authority’s
Landlord Resources Page for more detailed information about the program.

HACP HCV Department Contact Information

200 Ross Street, 7th Floor

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

General Number: 412-456-5090

FAX: 412-456-5024

HCV Department

Daniel Conge, Program Manager

412-456-5000, Ext. 4002

Daniel.Conge@hacp.org

Jennifer M. Hayes, Executive Assistant

412-456-5000, Ext. 4023

Jennifer.Hayes@hacp.org

Linda Gudukus, Portability Billing

412-456-5000, Ext. 4044

Linda.Gudukus@hacp.org

Daniel Grantham, Portability Representative

412-456-5000, Ext. 4032

Daniel.Grantham@hacp.org

Carole Jordan, Portability Representative

412-456-5000, Ext. 4025

Carole.Jordan@hacp.org

Natalie Lopez, Portability Representative

412-456-5000, Ext. 4030

Natalie.Lopez@hacp.org

Christine Oliver, Portability Representative

412-456-5000, Ext. 4030

Christine.Oliver@hacp.org

HCV Department Housing Counselors

Evelyn Denning, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4006

Evelyn.Denning@hacp.org

Donna Freeman, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4033

Donna.Freeman@hacp.org

Jimmese Glenn, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4021

Jimmese.Glenn@hacp.org

Celia Larue, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 2254

Celia.Larue@hacp.org

Makala McGinnis, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4007

Makala.McGinnis@hacp.org

Laura Mitchell-Dendy, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4027

Laura.Mitchell-Dendey@hacp.org

April Preston, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4035

April.Preston@hacp.org

Theresa Seibert, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4042

Theresa.Seibert@hacp.org

Lorne Shields, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4024

Lorne.Shields@hacp.org

Tamika Weldon, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4041

Tamika.Weldon@hacp.org

HCV Department Inspection Division

Yolanda Peterson, Inspection Scheduling

412-456-5000, Ext. 4020

Yolanda.Peterson@hacp.org

Landlord Outreach Team

Kent Zelesky, Landlord Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 4034

Kent.Zelesky@hacp.org

Brenda Lawson, Operation Scheduler

412-456-5000, Ext. 4009

Brenda.Lawson@hacp.org

Diane Jankowski, Support and Service Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 4017

Diane.Jankowski@hacp.org

Valerie Toropin, RFTA Processing

412-456-5000, Ext. 4040

Valerie.Toropin@hacp.org

Deanna Richards, RFTA Processing

412-456-5000, Ext. 4040

Deanna.Richards@hacp.org