Housing Choice Voucher

What is the Housing Choice Voucher Program?

The Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) Program, the nation’s largest rental assistance program, helps low-income families, the elderly and the disabled rent decent, safe and sanitary housing units in the private market. Each year, HCVs help lift more than one million people nation-wide out of poverty and give families the opportunity to move to safer, less poor neighborhoods. The HCV program offers a number of benefits to participating families, as well as communities as a whole, including:

  • Reducing homelessness
  • Increasing housing stability
  • Reducing poverty
  • Helping low-wage workers make ends meet
  • Giving families access to safer neighborhoods with better schools and opportunities
  • Allowing senior citizens and disabled individuals to live independently
  • Reducing costs in health care and other public services

How Does A Housing Choice Voucher Work?

The HCV program was designed to expand housing choices for low-income families by allowing them to search for rental housing in the private market. Once a low-income family is invited to participate in the program, the HACP issues that family a housing voucher. The voucher identifies the size of unit the family qualifies for, as well as the maximum amount of monthly rent the family can afford to pay. Using the voucher information as a guideline, the voucher holder then searches for an affordable rental unit that best matches their family’s housing needs

What is the Relationship Between Program Participants, Property Owners and the HACP?  

The HCV program is best viewed as three separate partnerships: one between the HACP and program participants, another partnership between the HACP and property owners, and a third partnership between the property owner and their HCV program tenant family.

Useful Information for Landlords and Property Owners

Landlords working with the HACP Housing Choice Voucher Program (Section 8) or interested in working with HACP can view the Authority’s
Landlord Resources Page for more detailed information about the program.

HACP HCV Department Contact Information

200 Ross Street, 7th Floor

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

General Number: 412-456-5090

FAX: 412-456-5024

HCV Departments

Heather T. Gaines, Director

412-456-5000, Ext. 4011

Heather.Gaines@hacp.org

Eldolia Weir, HCV Special Project Manager

412-456-5000, Ext. 4004

Eldolia.Weir@hacp.org

Jason Lockard, Senior Program Coordinator

412-456-5000, Ext. 4025

Jason.Lockard@hacp.org

HCV Department Housing Counselors

Christine Oliver, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4030

Christine.Oliver@hacp.org

Kathleen Brant, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4032

Kathleen.Brant@hacp.org

Philip Manion, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4007

Philip.Manion@hacp.org

Lorne Shields, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4024

Lorne.Shields@hacp.org

Audrea Slaughter, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4033

Audrea.Slaughter@hacp.org

Kyersten Johnson, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4019

Kyersten.Johnson@hacp.org

Jimmese Glenn, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4021

Jimmese.Glenn@hacp.org

HCV Department Inspection Division

Leslie Amieno, HQS Assistant

412-456-5000, Ext. 4009

Leslie.Amieno@hacp.org

Diane Smith, Support & Service Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 4040

Diane.Smith@hacp.org

Landlord Outreach Team

Kent Zelesky, Landlord Outreach

412-456-5000, Ext. 4034

Kent.Zelesky@hacp.org