Housing Choice Voucher

What is the Housing Choice Voucher Program?

The Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) Program, the nation’s largest rental assistance program, helps low-income families, the elderly and the disabled rent decent, safe and sanitary housing units in the private market. Each year, HCVs help lift more than one million people nation-wide out of poverty and give families the opportunity to move to safer, less poor neighborhoods. The HCV program offers a number of benefits to participating families, as well as communities as a whole, including:

  • Reducing homelessness
  • Increasing housing stability
  • Reducing poverty
  • Helping low-wage workers make ends meet
  • Giving families access to safer neighborhoods with better schools and opportunities
  • Allowing senior citizens and disabled individuals to live independently
  • Reducing costs in health care and other public services

How Does A Housing Choice Voucher Work?

The HCV program was designed to expand housing choices for low-income families by allowing them to search for rental housing in the private market. Once a low-income family is invited to participate in the program, the HACP issues that family a housing voucher. The voucher identifies the size of unit the family qualifies for, as well as the maximum amount of monthly rent the family can afford to pay. Using the voucher information as a guideline, the voucher holder then searches for an affordable rental unit that best matches their family’s housing needs

What is the Relationship Between Program Participants, Property Owners and the HACP?  

The HCV program is best viewed as three separate partnerships: one between the HACP and program participants, another partnership between the HACP and property owners, and a third partnership between the property owner and their HCV program tenant family.

Useful Information for Landlords and Property Owners

Landlords working with the HACP Housing Choice Voucher Program (Section 8) or interested in working with HACP can view the Authority’s
Landlord Resources Page for more detailed information about the program.

HCV Department Closure Dates

HACP's Housing Choice Voucher Department will be closed to clients the following days:
HCV Closure DatesHCV In Service Days (Department Closed)Observed Holidays (Department Closed)
December 23, 2019January 27, 2020December 24, 2019 (Floating Holiday)
December 24, 2019February 24, 2020December 25, 2019 (Christmas Day)
December 25, 2019March 23, 2020January 1, 2020 (New Year's Day)
January 1, 2020April 27, 2020January 20, 2020 (MLK Day)
May 25, 2020February 17, 2020 (Presidents' Day)
June 22, 2020April 10, 2020 (Good Friday)
July 27, 2020May 25, 2020 (Memorial Day)
August 24, 2020July 3, 2020 (Independence Day Observed)
September 28, 2020September 7, 2020 (Labor Day)
October 26, 2020November 11, 2020 (Veterans' Day)
November 23, 2020November 26, 2020 (Thanksgiving Day)
December 28, 2020November 27, 2020 (Day after Thanksgiving)
December 24, 2020 (Floating Holiday)
December 25, 2020 (Christmas Day)
HACP HCV Department Contact Information

200 Ross Street, 7th Floor

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

General Number: 412-456-5090

FAX: 412-456-5024

HCV Department

Kimberly Turner, HCV Supervisor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4044

Kimberly.Turner@hacp.org

Walter Wilson, HCV Supervisor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4002

Walter.Wilson@hacp.org

Anna Jasim, Executive Assistant

412-456-5000, Ext. 4023

Anna.Jasim@hacp.org

Diane Jankowski, Support & Service Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 4017

Diane.Jankowski@hacp.org

Ellie Dreher, Customer Service Associate

412-456-5000, Ext. 4028

Ellie.Dreher@hacp.org

Tamika Weldon, Portability Representative

412-456-5000, Ext. 4041

Tamika.Weldon@hacp.org

Christine Oliver, Portability Representative

412-456-5000, Ext. 4030

Christine.Oliver@hacp.org

Kier Johnson, Portability Representative

412-456-5000, Ext. 2502

Kier.Johsnon@hacp.org

HCV Department Housing Counselors

Evelyn Denning, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4006

Evelyn.Denning@hacp.org

Donna Freeman, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4033

Donna.Freeman@hacp.org

Darnell Walker, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4030

Darnell.Walker@hacp.org

Celia Larue, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 2254

Celia.Larue@hacp.org

Destennae Oliver, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4021

Destennae.Oliver@hacp.org

Laura Mitchell-Dendy, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4027

Laura.Mitchell-Dendey@hacp.org

April Preston, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4035

April.Preston@hacp.org

Theresa Seibert, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 4042

Theresa.Seibert@hacp.org

HCV Department Inspection Division

Jack Owens, Inspections Manager HCV

412-456-5000, Ext. 3016

Jack.Owens@hacp.org

Monique Kelly, RFTA Processing

412-456-5000, Ext. 4040

Monique.Kelly@hacp.org

Dionna Steel, Administrative Liaison (Inspections)

412-456-5000, Ext. 2254

Dionna.Steel@hacp.org

Landlord Outreach Team

Kent Zelesky, Landlord Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 4034

Kent.Zelesky@hacp.org