Housing Choice Voucher Program

This page has resources for HCV tenants and applicants. HCV Landlords can find resources on the Landlord Resources page.

What is the Housing Choice Voucher Program?

The Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) Program, the nation’s largest rental assistance program, helps low-income families, the elderly and the disabled rent decent, safe and sanitary housing units in the private market. Each year, HCVs help lift more than one million people nation-wide out of poverty and give families the opportunity to move to safer, less poor neighborhoods. The HCV program offers a number of benefits to participating families, as well as communities as a whole, including:

  • Reducing homelessness
  • Increasing housing stability
  • Reducing poverty
  • Helping low-wage workers make ends meet
  • Giving families access to safer neighborhoods with better schools and opportunities
  • Allowing senior citizens and disabled individuals to live independently
  • Reducing costs in health care and other public services

How Does A Housing Choice Voucher Work?

The HCV program was designed to expand housing choices for low-income families by allowing them to search for rental housing in the private market. Once a low-income family is invited to participate in the program, the HACP issues that family a housing voucher. The voucher identifies the size of unit the family qualifies for, as well as the maximum amount of monthly rent the family can afford to pay. Using the voucher information as a guideline, the voucher holder then searches for an affordable rental unit that best matches their family’s housing needs.

What is the Relationship Between Program Participants, Property Owners and the HACP?  

The HCV program is best viewed as three separate partnerships: one between the HACP and program participants, another partnership between the HACP and property owners, and a third partnership between the property owner and their HCV program tenant family.

Useful Information for Landlords and Property Owners

Landlords working with the HACP Housing Choice Voucher Program (Section 8) or interested in working with HACP can view the Authority’s
Landlord Resources Page for more detailed information about the program.

HCV Department Closure Dates

HACP's Housing Choice Voucher Department will be closed to clients the following days:
HCV Closure DatesHCV In Service Days (Department Closed)Observed Holidays (Department Closed)
December 23, 2019January 27, 2020December 24, 2019 (Floating Holiday)
December 24, 2019February 24, 2020December 25, 2019 (Christmas Day)
December 25, 2019March 23, 2020January 1, 2020 (New Year's Day)
January 1, 2020April 27, 2020January 20, 2020 (MLK Day)
May 25, 2020February 17, 2020 (Presidents' Day)
June 22, 2020April 10, 2020 (Good Friday)
July 27, 2020May 25, 2020 (Memorial Day)
August 24, 2020July 3, 2020 (Independence Day Observed)
September 28, 2020September 7, 2020 (Labor Day)
October 26, 2020November 11, 2020 (Veterans' Day)
November 23, 2020November 26, 2020 (Thanksgiving Day)
December 28, 2020November 27, 2020 (Day after Thanksgiving)
December 24, 2020 (Floating Holiday)
December 25, 2020 (Christmas Day)

RFTA’s should be sent to hacp.rfta@hacp.org

Other forms should be emailed to HCV@hacp.org

HACP HCV Department Contact Information

200 Ross Street, 7th Floor

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

General Number: 412-456-5090

FAX: 412-456-5224

HCV Department

Kimberly Turner, HCV Supervisor

412-456-5000, Ext. 2734

Kimberly.Turner@hacp.org

Anna Jasim, Executive Assistant

412-456-5000, Ext. 3231

Anna.Jasim@hacp.org

Shante Wilcox, Front Desk Associate

412-456-5000, Ext. 3135

Shante.Wilcox@hacp.org

Robert Palmer, File Clerk

Robert.Palmer@hacp.org

Diane Jankowski, Service & Support Specialist II

412-456-5000, Ext. 3154

Diane.Jankowski@hacp.org

Ellie Dreher, Customer Service Associate

412-456-5000, Ext. 2781

Ellie.Dreher@hacp.org

Kier Johnson, Portability Representative

412-456-5000, Ext. 2740

Kier.Johnson@hacp.org

April Preston, Portability Representative

412-456-5000, Ext. 2739

April.Preston@hacp.org

Malaysia Smith, Portability Representative

412-456-5000, Ext. 2760

Malaysia.Smith@hacp.org

HCV Department Housing Counselors

Evelyn Denning, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 2863

Evelyn.Denning@hacp.org

Donna Freeman, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 2891

Donna.Freeman@hacp.org

Darnell Walker, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 2806

Darnell.Walker@hacp.org

Celia Larue, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 2254

Celia.Larue@hacp.org

Desttenae Oliver, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 2862

Desttenae.Oliver@hacp.org

Laura Mitchell-Dendy, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 2858

Laura.Mitchell-Dendy@hacp.org

Theresa Seibert, Housing Counselor

412-456-5000, Ext. 2761

Theresa.Seibert@hacp.org

Allana Morrison, Housing Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 2961

Allana.Morrison@hacp.org

Angella Mullings, Housing Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 2882

Angella.Mullings@hacp.org

HCV Department Inspection Division

Jack Owens, Inspections Manager HCV

412-456-5000, Ext. 2881

Jack.Owens@hacp.org

Dionna Steel, Administrative Liaison (Inspections)

412-456-5000, Ext. 3236

Dionna.Steel@hacp.org

SaraWynn Jones, Service Support Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 2939

SaraWynn.Jones@hacp.org

Landlord Outreach Team

Landlord Support Line

412-961-1651