House outline blue

Housing Choice Voucher Program

This page has resources for HCV tenants and applicants. HCV Landlords can find resources on the Landlord Resources page. To access the HCV Online Briefing, click here.

HACP, Allegheny County Housing Authority (ACHA), Allegheny County Department of Human Services (DHS), and the YWCA Greater Pittsburgh have partnered to help HCV families find homes in areas of opportunity through the HUD Community Choice Demonstration. For more information regarding the program and how it can benefit HCV families, please visit the Community Choice Demonstration page.


 

What is the Housing Choice Voucher Program?

The Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) Program, the nation’s largest rental assistance program, helps low-income families, the elderly and the disabled rent decent, safe and sanitary housing units in the private market. Each year, HCVs help lift more than one million people nation-wide out of poverty and give families the opportunity to move to safer, less poor neighborhoods. The HCV program offers a number of benefits to participating families, as well as communities as a whole, including:

  • Reducing homelessness
  • Increasing housing stability
  • Reducing poverty
  • Helping low-wage workers make ends meet
  • Giving families access to safer neighborhoods with better schools and opportunities
  • Allowing senior citizens and disabled individuals to live independently
  • Reducing costs in health care and other public services

How Does A Housing Choice Voucher Work?

The HCV program was designed to expand housing choices for low-income families by allowing them to search for rental housing in the private market. Once a low-income family is invited to participate in the program, the HACP issues that family a housing voucher. The voucher identifies the size of unit the family qualifies for, as well as the maximum amount of monthly rent the family can afford to pay. Using the voucher information as a guideline, the voucher holder then searches for an affordable rental unit that best matches their family’s housing needs.

The Housing Choice Voucher Online Briefing walks tenants through the HCV program, how it works, and what to expect. You can access the HCV Online Briefing here.

What is the Relationship Between Program Participants, Property Owners and the HACP?  

The HCV program is best viewed as three separate partnerships: one between the HACP and program participants, another partnership between the HACP and property owners, and a third partnership between the property owner and their HCV program tenant family.

Useful Information for Landlords and Property Owners

Landlords working with the HACP Housing Choice Voucher Program (Section 8) or interested in working with HACP can view the Authority’s
Landlord Resources Page for more detailed information about the program.

HACP's Housing Choice Voucher Department will be closed to clients the following days:
Observed Holidays (Department Closed)
December 31, 2021 (New Year's Day Observed)
January 17, 2022 (MLK Day)
February 21, 2022 (Presidents' Day)
April 15, 2022 (Good Friday)
May 30, 2022 (Memorial Day)
June 20, 2022 (Juneteenth Day Observed)
July 4, 2022 (Independence Day)
September 5, 2022 (Labor Day)
November 11, 2022 (Veterans' Day)
November 24, 2022 (Thanksgiving Day)
November 25, 2022 (Day after Thanksgiving)
December 23, 2022 (Floating Holiday)
December 26, 2022 (Christmas Observed)

Request for Tenancy Approvals (RFTAs) should be sent to: hacp.rfta@hacp.org

Other forms should be emailed to: HCV@hacp.org

HACP HCV Department Contact Information

200 Ross Street, 7th Floor

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

General Number: 412-456-5090

FAX: 412-456-5224

HCV Department

Tommie Thomas, HCV Project Manager

412-456-5000, Ext. 2796

Tommie.Thomas@hacp.org

Celia LaRue, HCV Project Manager

412-456-5000, Ext. 2936

Celia.LaRue@hacp.org

Diane Jankowski, Service & Support Specialist II

412-456-5000, Ext. 3154

Diane.Jankowski@hacp.org

Ellen Dreher, Customer Service Representative

412-456-5000, Ext. 2781

Ellen.Dreher@hacp.org

Raymond Craighead, Front Desk Assistant

412-456-5000, Ext. 3282

Raymond.Craighead@hacp.org

Sacoya Manker, General Clerk

412-456-5000, 3186

Sacoya.Manker@hacp.org

Chase Felton, Portability Representative

412-456-5000, Ext. 3277

Chase.Felton@hacp.org

Cheryl Winterhalter, Internal Compliance Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 3143

Cheryl.Winterhalter@hacp.org

Evelyn Denning, Quality Control Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 2863

Evelyn.Denning@hacp.org

Janaan Barakat, Portability Representative

412-456-5000, Ext. 3259

Janaan.Barakat@hacp.org

Monica Scott, Portability Representative

412-456-5000, Ext. 3284

Monica.Scott@hacp.org

Pamela.Narr@hacp.org, Internal Compliance Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 3198

Pamela.Narr@hacp.org

Travis Green-Webb, Portability Representative

412-456-5000, Ext. 3278

Travis.Green-Webb@hacp.org

HCV Department Housing Counselors

Darnell Walker, Housing Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 2806

Darnell.Walker@hacp.org

Shatae DeVaughn, Housing Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 2734

Shatae.DeVaughn@hacp.org

Jared Davis, Housing Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 2902

Jared.Davis@hacp.org

Laura Mitchell-Dendy, Housing Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 2858

Laura.Mitchell-Dendy@hacp.org

Angella Mullings, Housing Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 2882

Anegla.Mullings@hacp.org

Barbara McCray, Housing Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 3247

Barbara.McCray@hacp.org

Ebony Gaston, Housing Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 3271

Ebony.Gaston@hacp.org

Heather Blackwell, Housing Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 2803

Heather.Blackwell@hacp.org

Rhodesia Bey, Housing Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 3276

Rhodesia.Bey@hacp.org

Tyler Wolfe, Housing Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 3190

Tyler.Wolfe@hacp.org

HCV Department Inspection Division

Willie Stewart, HQS Inspections Manager

412-456-5000, Ext. 2889

Willie.Stewart@hacp.org

Douglas Wampler, Administrative Liaison (Inspections)

412-456-5000, Ext. 3114

Douglas.Wampler@hacp.org

Monique Hemingway, Support and Service Specialist

412-456-5000, Ext. 3266

Monique.Hemingway@hacp.org

Dave Chappel, Housing Inspector

412-456-5000, Ext. 2767

Dave.Chappel@hacp.org

Nedra Davis-Uslu, Housing Inspector

412-456-5000, Ext. 2819

Nedra.Davis@hacp.org

Landlord Outreach Team

Landlord Support

412-643-2889